12 June 2014

Girls Track: Winning tradition continues

Field MVP Isabelle Ferm ran in her 4th straight state meet (photo by Jim Lindquist)
Coach Tom Hart said his team's 2014 spring season could be described in a single word: Successful.

"I think we had great season," Hart said. "The girls improved as the season progressed and we achieved our goal of running faster, jumping higher and farther and throwing farther."

Farmington finished second at the Missota Conference Championships and third at both the Section 1AA and True Team section meets.

"With those finishes I was happy with our season," Hart said. "Izzie Ferm also qualified for the state meet again and we sent three relay teams to state. That's the most I have witnessed in my almost 20 years being around Farmington track."

Hart added that the closest thing to a disappointment came in a so-so showing at state that had his four entrants reach the podium just once. The 4x200 relay team of Ferm, Emma Record, Jennifer Miller and Megan Graham finished ninth at the state finals.

Emma Record (above) and Lauren Peterson shared Track MVP honors  (photo by Jim Lindquist)

Seventh-grade distance runner Lauren Peterson (photo by Jim Lindquist)
"If I could re-do anything it would be to get another shot at a couple of events at state," he said. "We had some athletes battling injuries that prevented them from achieving their goals."

Hart and his staff awarded varsity letters to 38 athletes for their contributions during the 2014 season, including 10 seniors: Kathryn Beckett, Jessica Bowens, Morgan Cecchittini, Alex Elliot, Kelli Elmer, Isabelle Ferm, Aly Grebner, Abby Kampa, Chantal Kheirallah and Maricia Pacheco.

Underclassmen earning letters included juniors Sofia Chadwick, Nicole Doran, Ashley Ellefson, Megan Graham, Alicia Hett, Kendall Novak, Destiny Schmitz, Alexandra Sitzman and Jordan Walls; sophomores Racquel Beckett, Kaylin Finstad, Amanda Flanscha, MaKayla Ford, Emma Goralksi, Lexi Hermoza, Leah Kiage, Morgan Mach, Jennifer Miller, Maricella Pacheco, Asuah Reedy and Elizabeth Welter; freshmen Victoria Almquist, Rachel Kiminski, Samantha Kramer, Shannon McKnight and Emma Record and seventh graders Lauren Peterson and Anna Palodichuk.

**A complete list of other team members appears at the end of this story

Ferm won all-Missota Conference distinction for the fourth consecutive season and teamed up with Hett, Graham and Miller to win the 4x400 conference title. The 4x200 relay foursome of Ferm, Record, Miller and Graham also reigned as Missota champions.

Ferm closed her standout career with a fourth trip to the state meet and was joined by the 4x200, 4x400 and 4x800 (Chadwick, Peterson, Mach, Hett) relay teams.

Alicia Hett (above) and Megan Graham received the Tiger Award (photo by Jim Lindquist)
 Ferm took home team MVP honors for the field events while Record and Peterson shared "Most Valuable" honors on the track. Hett and Graham were co-winners of the Tiger Award for attitude and work ethic and pole vaulter Kendall Novak received the Most Improved Award.

With 10 state meet qualifiers returning next year Hart said the future continues to look bright in the Tiger camp.

Megan Graham (photo by Jim Lindquist)
"We look to build from this year's successes but realize we need to keep working because the competition will be doing the same," he said.

Farmington moves to the talent-laden South Suburban Conference next year and Hart aid he is excited about the change.

"Many of our meets have already been South Suburban-heavy so we are familiar with most of the teams," he said. "The South Suburban coaches have told us they are happy to see us arrive as it will make the conference stronger."

**2014 Girls Track participants
Kali Allard, Sydney Bockelman, Sarah Cummings, Alexis Johnson, Ariel Rau, and Jordan Trout
Kaitlyn Bessler, Kaitlin Edwards, Ratinaqu Hach, Kelly Haeg, Emily Larsen, Courtney McCuddin, Hannah Morgan, Jessica Novotny, Asuah Reedy, Taylor Scharrat, Hannah Stoefel and Vanessa Thraen
Emma-Jean Anderson, Kayla Bauman, Gabrielle Elliot, Amma Ewuakye, Kiana Gates, Lily Gildenzopf, Gabrielle Herrera, Catherine Hurley, Sami Hyytinen, Maria Paduano, Amanda Schmidt, Shaina Thelen, Bethany Weiher and Grace Welter
Emily Schaffer