02 December 2010

Girls Swimming and Diving: A re-write of the record book

The FHS girls swimming and diving record book took a beating in 2010. The Tigers set new standards in eight of 12 events and as team soared to new heights. It was truly a season to remember.
At the top of the list of team accomplishments was winning the school's first-ever Section 1AA True Team title that led to an 11th place finish at the True Team state meet.
In ensuing weeks, the girls added to their trophy case with second place finishes at both the Missota Conference and Section 1AA Championships. In the section, the Tigers scored three firsts and qualified for state in five events. At the state finals, they racked up a school record 43 points and finished 17th in the team standings, another local record.
"This season was by far the most successful for us both in and out of the pool," Section 1AA Coach of the Year Jen Marshall said. "Individual and team goals were achieved and we had a lot of fun along the way.
"As a team we showed much more maturity than previous seasons and that came through in the girls' performances."
Twenty-two swimmers and divers earned varsity letters in the record-shattering season, including five seniors: Amanda Brasgalla, Terra Klima, Caitlin Kracke, Andrea Pellicci and Elizabeth Wolfe.
"This group of seniors is a special one to me," Marshall said. "It has been an honor to watch them develop as athletes and people as they have become amazing young women."
Underclassmen monogram winners include juniors Abby Haugen, Sarah O'Reilly and Victoria Resch; sophomores Maddie Alexander, Robin Ellis, Megan Maniaci and Delaney Wright; freshmen Katie Aaron, Chloe Holton, Sara Kintner, Kaitlyn O'Reilly, Cory Ruzicka and Hannah Seitzinger and eighth-graders Kirsten Kracke, Kendall Novak, Ellie Sundet and Hanna Sundt.
O'Reilly (100 backstroke) and Wolfe (100 breaststroke) became just the second and third Tigers to earn all-state recognition while O'Reilly, Caitlin Kracke and Kirsten Kracke secured berths on the all-Missota Conference squad. Wolfe and Sarah O'Reilly received all-league honorable mention.
Kaitlyn O'Reilly set new school records in the 200 individual medley, 500 freestyle and 100 backstroke while Caitlin Kracke established new marks in the 50 and 100 freestyle. Wolfe shattered the school record in the 100 breaststroke.
Two relay teams also swam their way into the books, the 200 medley quartet of Kaitlyn O'Reilly, Wolfe, Caitlin Kracke and Kirsten Kracke and the 200 freestyle relay foursome of Kaitlyn O'Reilly, Ellie Sundet and the Kracke sisters.
With just five seniors on the team, Marshall said the future of Tigers swimming and diving is a bright one.
"There is a strong core of underclassmen who have set high goals for themselves and the team," she said. "I'm excited to see where they can take us."
Marshall said before leaving the 2010 season behind she wanted to give proper credit to assistant coach and ex-Tiger Joe Velaski who recently received the Section 1AA Assistant Coach of the Year award.
"It has been an absolute joy to work with him as he really has come into his own as a coach," she said. "We could not have achieved all of our success without him."